RPG Objects
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
 


Home » Chaosium » Reviews
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Miskatonic Repository 1920's Rogue Gallery Art Pack
by Daniel E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:58:50

I really injoyed the character art, I have long scowered the internet for just this sort of thing. It is much more fun to put faces to people that players run in to. I find it deepens the experiance for everyone playing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miskatonic Repository 1920's Rogue Gallery Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

The Idol of Thoth
by Brian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2018 10:52:32

The Idol of Thoth by Joe Trier (How We Roll Podcast) is an Excellent! single session scenario.

I think it could be easily adapted to any group and potentially inserted into an existing storyline or 'campaign'.

Beyond the well developed story (and npc's) the actual production and layout of the book is top quality.

You'd be hard pressed to find a better $4 value.

Highly Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Miskatonic Repository Mythos Monster Silhouettes Art Pack
by Nick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2018 02:29:06

what a refreshing look at the mythos love this art - well worth the download. An excellent resource for CoC



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miskatonic Repository Mythos Monster Silhouettes Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Miskatonic Repository Mythos Monster Silhouettes Art Pack
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2018 01:58:34

Delightful work, really evocative of the mythos. I look forward to more from this artist!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
by Benjamin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2018 13:19:57

Oh this is great - the ideal one-session scenario. A fairly famillar set up (which will help entice novice players) unfolds to a dramatic and novel conclusion that could easily be inserted into a longer campaign. I ran it for one player with an NPC accomplice but it would also work well with a larger group. The way the adventure is constructed means it's very easy to alter the threat level to match the player's abilities and experience. As mentioned in other reviews the scenario provides the opportunity to deliver just the right blend of investigation and action. The 'Keeper's Tips' section is particularly useful in this respect, and details how classic and pulp elements can be blended to suit individual tastes. If this is the standard we can come to expect from Joe Trier, and from the wider Miskantonic Repository, then we are all in for a treat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

The Idol of Thoth
by Tracy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2017 08:33:17

I'm very excited to run this scenario. It centers around a great mystery, has interesting NPCs, and will take investigators around Boston and to Miskatonic University. Trier has created a fun investigation for players AND provided an interesting story for Keepers. The notes for Keepers are great, especially for those new to running games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
by Ryan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2017 17:04:25

A fantastic beginner scenario by a new writer Joe Trier from the How We Roll Podcast. Just the right blend of Pulp and investigation, perfect to ensnare new players or for use during a convention.

Detailed keeper notes to set the scene, complete with excellent descriptions for use during your game. Memorable NPCs, clear and concise maps & locations, easy to use layout.

Very happy with my purchase and can't wait to play with my group in the new year.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cold Harvest
by Tom M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2017 05:09:18

An excellent piece. The combination of bleak existential horror (the great purge) combines well with theMythos



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cold Harvest
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Magic World
by Nicholas J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2017 17:52:57

Essentially a reissue of the excellent Elric!/Stormbringer rules by Chaosium; a slightly simpler version of the BRP rules compared to Runequest (no hit locations, variable armor rolls, quick and logical character creation, etc.) The main difference between Magic World and the older rules it is based on is, that it has integrated some of the newer rules from the BRP "Big Gold Book" (skill category bonuses, spells, monsters, etc.) and it has stripped out all of the references to Micheal Moorcock's intellectual property. In it's place they provide a simple fantasy sandbox setting called the 'Southern Reaches' with a vaguely Celtic flavor that has plenty of room for an imaginative GM to flesh out.

There is one other supplement for this game called "Advanced Sorcery." that is well worth getting. It offers an expanded sorcery spell list, a section on necromancy, a free-form magic system called 'deep magic', more robust summoning rules for demons, elementals and spirits, a section on herbalism, enhanced rules for characters with high skill ratings, and finally a fey magic section that fits in with the Southern Reaches setting provided in Magic World.

The only gripe I have with the game is that the layout, organization and artwork of the book are kind of subpar. I believe Chaosium was in a bit of financial difficulty at the time and it shows. Sadly, Chaosium has stopped producing any supporting materials for the game, but luckily there is a fairly dedicated (if small) community making fan-produced material at the BRP Central forums.

Final Verdict: An excellent iteration of the BRP line of game rules, that hits the sweet spot for those who like their systems a little less crunchy, and want an off-the-shelf fantasy game that should easily support any kind of fantasy from swords & sorcery, to high-fantasy, and to anything in-between. It's only held back by its less than stellar production values.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magic World
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Gloranthan Classics Volume I - Pavis & Big Rubble
by Giles R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2017 23:58:33

This book will keep you going for months. It contains detailed notes on the city of Pavis. The characharacters presented are interesting. The big rubble is a giant playground for adventures. The puzzle canal adventure is very good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gloranthan Classics Volume I - Pavis & Big Rubble
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Frontier Cthulhu
by Christine F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2017 19:14:56

This is a collection of short fiction. I have not yet read the stories; this review is more a review of the product blurb, which sounds (in the context of this being an rpg-centric store) like a collection of modules. It's not.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Secrets of New Orleans
by Ryan I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2017 19:21:39

The Secrets of New Orleans is a great companion for creating a near-real world campaign in 1920's New Orleans. If you were to play Call of Cthulhu in New Orleans this would be a must. You would have to do some converting if you were playing 7th Ed, but not much. I'm using it to run a Savage World's based Noir Game set in New Orleans (I know there is Deadlands Noir, but I didn't want the world to be that far out). It has been super helpful. It covers big topics like Social Stratification, the different groups within New Orleans, many important and weird districs, and deals a bit with the bayou as well. A great read at a resonable price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of New Orleans
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Argan Argar Atlas
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2017 03:10:16

While the maps are comprehensive and exhaustive in this product, I deducted a star because there are no roads shown. On a scale of five miles per hex there is no excuse for displaying major roads.

I also deducted a star because the key is only printed on thelarge-scale overview masps, and are unreadable; a comprehensive map isd of little use without a key.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Argan Argar Atlas
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Secrets
by S. J. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2017 18:29:05

The PDF (even graded on the curve of a scanned book) could be greatly improved on a technical level (contrast and alignment, bookmarks, print clarity, etc), but technical matters aren't the reason to buy (or not buy) this book. Secrets delivers exactly where you want it to, with evocative, reliable single-session adventures. The first in the collection, A Love in Need, is one I've GMed dozens of times for as many groups, not only as a CoC run but even adapting it to my Uresia campaigns. It's an entertaining and instructive example of an adventure designed so (A) the players have the freedom to create and explore their own solutions but (B) the adventure still ticks along with strong pacing and a certain conclusion ... because events at the Sanderson Boarding House operate on their own timetable. The level of interference with the horror underway is up to the PCs, and the quality of their interference is up to their investigative skills, boldness, and quick thinking. The cast of NPCs is memorable, and there's a smart mix of physical clues and dialogue-focused mystery-solving. A Love in Need is, in simple terms, one of my favorite one-shot adventures, for this or any other game. If your players have never waxed philosophical with the The Amazing Kraygen, they're overdue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Keeper Screen Pack
by Scott F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2017 11:49:35

I'm very disappointed in this product. For some bizarre reason they have provided the printable PDFs oriented in landscape orientation (so they are wide but short), rather than the traditional portrait orientation. Which is extra weird, because if you buy the actual, hardcover screen, it's in portrait orientation! And look, not many people have folders that unfold in a horizontal orientation, so I'm not sure how they think you're going to use these.

And keep in mind, I'm reviewing the newest release - they give you printable files, it's not just the giant and nearly unprintable ones it looks like (from reviews below) they originally had. The printouts are also tough to read, the charts are confusing...overall, annoyed I spent the money. Don't be me, save your cash!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition Keeper Screen Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 256 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG