RPG Objects
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
 


Home » Wizards of the Coast » Reviews
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Jeffrey L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 21:19:00

Pretty straight forward. The title of the mod should be a big tip of what is to come. Play it the wrong way and there could be health issues for the party. Not much conversation with nps in this one, but if you like two hours of combat stress then this is the one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
by nathan s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 15:31:34

Spoilers*

Great timing, great combat balance. Player's found the lighthouse outage to be a confusing mcguffin, somewhat anti-climactic in its resolution. We were not sure that the lighthouse added anything to the story in the end. Player's also commonly mistook the identify of their ghostly companion for that of the missing Quartermaster, Igan. While these two elements were confusing for them, the flow was spectacular. The story gave a lot of options for non-combat resolutions, making it uniquely well suited for a variety of player types. There were a few small quirks to the adventure, like hiding the altar of Tyr in the east tower made little sense to the players and was sort of a misleading red herring. There wasn't enough information in the Moonsea Cults text to really feel satisfying.

For DM's doing homebrew, I would recommending having the Altar of Tyr not be hidden. Any defeat of Grim immediately lights the lighthouse. The Ghost is Igan.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 12:08:14

Pros:

  1. Contains one of the two cutest creatures I've ever seen in D&D.
  2. Decently short way to get to 5th level, at about 12-14 hours of runtime on average.
  3. All the intelligent monstrous enemies have names, and the names are beautiful.
  4. Has well-connected parts, which have clear completion requirements.

Cons:

  1. The end of the scenario is quite weak, probably due to it being a lead-in to the rest of the hardcover. For AL scenario players moving on to other seasons and such, a little extra work on an ending will not go astray.
  2. The people in this are all named and have professions and familial backstories listed. Not only is this strictly unnecessary for the vast majority of them, but it also takes up an annoying amount of page space, making it more difficult to run.
  3. Most combats and rewards available in this scenario rely on the PCs being terrible people, robbing and murdering at every opportunity. This is not ideal behaviour and really punishes decent characters. I imagine there is a party out there that could do this and get most rewards, but it is not a party of people I know.


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA05 Storm King's Thunder: A Great Upheaveal (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX2-14 The Sword of Selfaril (5e)
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 11:55:05

Pros:

  1. The scenario is quite flavourful, and best presented directly after Mayhem in the Earthspur Mines.
  2. It really develops on the Mulmaster Cloaks and their relationships with other local powers, expanding on the other factions vying for their slice of authority on the Moonsea.

Cons:

  1. The DM really needs to be on the ball to keep up the pace, otherwise it can become quite monotonous.
  2. The overall scenario doesn't quite manage to represent the core tension of the elemental cults, and the final encounter doesn't depict the flavour of the featured cult particularly well.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-14 The Sword of Selfaril (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX2-04 Mayhem in the Earthspur Mines (5e)
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 11:46:49

Pros:

  1. Part one is essentially an excellently written story hook for part two.
  2. Part two is flavourful and just scary enough - there are also several ways of going about this that make the scenario decently replayable.

Cons:

  1. The actual beginning adventure hooks need a bit of creative license to make them work for the more considered and cautious adventurers, though doing so can pay off later.
  2. The boss is fleetingly scary, though is intelligent, has minions, and can become actually scary if the party manages to back themselves into a corner in the mines. To avoid disastrous circumstances, it may be wise to drop hints about the number of exits to a room, and so on.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-04 Mayhem in the Earthspur Mines (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Rudy T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 11:08:43

Very fun starter missions for new players or for those who want a taste of the death curse and meatgrinder mode.Also a nice introduction to Chult



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
by Rudy T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 11:01:27

Great module for those who love exploring and dungeon crawls.There's very little RP but still a fun module especially if you like hack n slash type of adventures



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Rudy T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 10:57:08

Fantastic straight forward adventure well organized and tons of fun especially for new players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
by Rudy T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 10:53:32

Great 2 hour module very intense and some nice situations that require some thinking from players



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Remington A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 09:14:12

Much like DDAL05-01, this module is a fantastic way to introduce new players to D&D. It's also packed with a ton of fun for experienced players. The story provides a great starter for Tomb of Annihilation, welcoming the characters to Chult and giving them a taste of new things they'll have to deal with on this strange continent. I especially like part 2 of this module; it's a great new bit of fun that I haven't seen from Adventurer's League before, and my players loved it.

My critique comes to the timing. These are supposed to run as 1 hour mini-adventures, but can be very difficult to run in that time-frame without making some changes to speed things up. This doesn't take away from the fun of the module, it just requires some expectation management for how quickly you want to complete this for players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Rudy T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 03:03:21

Super fun adventure especially for new players and DMs.lots of combat, traps and some decision making for the players. Great for those who like lots of action.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 20:08:58

The first DDAL module for Season 7, "A City on the Edge" attempts t o provide a pathway to the Tomb of Annihilation storyline at tier 1. It starts off a bit rough, though. The module as a whole more or less presumes that the adventurers belong to one of the five factions. It does provide a hook for unaligned characters, but even that mostly consists of "go help the factions, oh and there's a Death Curse". It then moves into a brief, if vivid, prologue with the characters arriving in the port by ship and heading to (where else) a local tavern after being directed to visit the faction contacts. Each contact then has a mission for them.

As usual, this review contains SPOILERS, so the TL;DR version is "not bad".

What I liked

The scenarios (missions) themselves are, for the most part, pretty good. You have a tiny dungeon crawl, a FREAKING DINOSAUR RACE (followed by gladiatorial arena combat), a jungle fight, and another pair of tiny dungeon crawls. 

The dinosaur race stands out for the obvious reason that WE'RE RACING DINOSAURS, Y'ALL! I don't know what else you want. It has a slightly abstracted race mechanic that might take the players a bit to understand. Good DMs should still allow them to improvise additional actions and try to use the four listed as guides. The fight that follows the race felt like an afterthought, and I skipped it for time reasons on one of the occasions I ran this module.

Also, the editing and quality control in this document far exceeds most of the prior seasons. While not perfect, it more or less matches what we saw in Season 6 content. Hopefully this will continue to improve.

What I didn't like

The introduction does not really provide much of a motivation. DMs have to invent ways to get the party moving, and while we definitely can do that, the whole point of a module is to give us what we need. 

The dungeons themselves don't suck for the most part, but one of them has a puzzle in a series of rooms that I found really useless. It mostly consists of "roll to continue" even when the players and their characters have figured out how it works. DMs can fix this by interpreting the rolls, not as whether the adventurers figure out the same exact puzzle four times in a row, but as whether they can do it without setting off traps. (This might have been the intention; however, the text doesn't say that.)

The maps have improved from previous seasons (spoiler alert: the tier 2 companion to this module has the same bad maps as before). This really matters to groups that play on Roll20 or another virtual tabletop. Instead, I paid a little extra to get the map set here on DMs Guild produced by Gail D using assets from Mike Schley. A number of groups commented on how much they liked these maps. I did create an abstract grid for the dinosaur race based on what the module shows, as I have seen other groups get confused by the layout in Gail D's map on this one.

Tips and conclusion

Spend some time in advance thinking about how to get the party moving. Make sure you understand how the various traps and puzzles work; some of them might get jumbled if you read them for the first time right when the game is about to start. If you play at an actual table, the map quality will probably be okay for you, but if you use a VTT, spend some extra time or money to make sure your players see something a little nicer..

The whole module provides a maximum of 500 XP, so once players get through this, they will either need to play something else (including potentially the actual ToA book) or wait until November when the rest of the Tier 1 modules for this season come out.

Either way, it's not the worst introduction to a season I've seen, and the race alone makes it worthwhile in my mind.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
In Volo's Wake (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 16:00:57

Really enjoyed DMing this one with players with little experience. They had played LMoP, so they were familar with the area. One of the Story Awards did confuse me if it was to be given to all the players or just one. Played it over two days.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
by Ben C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 04:10:27

This adventure combines my favorite class and favorite monster in D&D, and I highly recommend it. It allows DMs to cover creatures and lore that isn’t covered in most hardcovers and modules. If you want to teach your players about Astral travelers and brain eaters, then this is a good adventure for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DDEX2-14 The Sword of Selfaril (5e)
by Ben C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 04:03:18

This is a good balanced adventure that provides a lot of role playing and world building interspaced with traps and combat. It easily creates a story that players can get caught up in regardless of character type while playing to the various roles of most parties. This is easily one of my favorite modules on the site.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-14 The Sword of Selfaril (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3352 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG