RPG Objects
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
 


Home » Wizards of the Coast » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by Philip T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 02:57:56

Combat: 8/10 The encounters in this mod were fun, but they are single dimensional in their character. There are essentially a lot of martial class fights, so the difficulty of the fights depends on whether the PC group has spellcasters or not. Spellcasters make the fight almost laughably easy. However, I did have a PC say: "I liked to be frightened, and DM, you certainly frightened me," which is very encouraging. This surprised me, because there wasn't a particular boss that was downright threatening.

Plot: 8/10 The story is great. There was a ever-present notion to the PC's that something wasn't quite right, and something wasn't so straightforward. So there was an element of mystery into figuring out what was going on, and how to use that to their advantage. It's funny how each time I DM this mod, the PC's interpret the events differently, and their approach to the ending is varies heavily.

The PC's are also quite invested in the outcome, since they could be stopping a major war between Giants and small folk, and there is the personal desire to help the mother.

Overall, a great mod, and really fun to both run and play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
by Philip T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 02:50:08

This was a very fun mod, and I don't think the PC's have ever been as scared of a single monster as the one Hartkiller's Horn is reputed to have. It's enjoyable and challenging for the PC's.

My only gripe about the beast (because let's face it, that's what this mod is mostly about) is that it is practically bulletproof. There are no weaknesses to exploit. It's almost frustrating how resilient the beast is.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
by Philip T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 01:43:51

Encounters: 5/10 A lot of these encounters are simply too easy. Many of the encounters are against bags of HP as far as Tier 3 goes, and these opponents are easily disabled by spellcasters. There are few ways for these encounters to challenge the PC's if they have decent saves.

The boss fight is interesting since its a monster you don't see very often (except in a certain hardcover), so in the end its modestly fun.

Plot: 7/10 You do care about the story/hook, since it's a major NPC friend that you're trying to rescue. Outside of that, there isn't much mystery or politics in the story, so it tends to be uninteresting.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
by Philip T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 01:27:39

[Spoilers] Encounters Rating: 8/10 The encounters in this mod are fun. If there is an OotG in the party, the "boss" fight is challenging. There is a lack of support goons for the boss, so the difficulty of the encounter depends very much on the skill of the DM. The guidance for the "boss" is probably not helpful.

The other fights involve rather fun, challenging, and unique creatures to deal with. The only issue is that with some of the encounters (the ones against humanoids), there is really lack of diversity amongst the opponents, so they are quite easily overcome with a good spellcaster amongst the PC's.

Plot: 5/10 There really isn't much mystery or motivation provided for the adventurer's to care about this issue. The story isn't particularly interesting, and doesn't seem very consequential to the overall theme of Season 5 mods.

Other Notes: A really straightforward mod. Easy to run.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
by Jorge A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 22:25:31

I believe that this is a pretty fun mod, I really like the social and RP opportunities that present themselves (and the hidden social XP is pretty cool as well, and at the end you (SPOILER ALERT) fight a dragon! What's more D&D then fighting a dragon?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Jorge A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 22:20:08

Definitely an enjoyable mod. Although I think the lack of a time for a short rest while investigating the grounds really hurts the party, and does nothing to prepare them for the grueling fight they have at the end (which I think is a bit too tough for a tier 1 module).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Jorge A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 22:15:28

This is definitely an alright module, I feel it doesn't really have anything that really makes it stand out though (besides Want-To-Be-Blue), I don't think I would run this mod again unless I was doing the complete trilogy.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Jorge A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 22:11:01

This was a very fun module, though I think it goes a little too quick in some parts, and that end encounter is a bit jarring. I would still highly recommend it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX1-08 Tales Trees Tell (5e)
by Jorge A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 22:06:00

I absolutely love this mod, and I love running every chance I get at my local game store. I love the hijinx and shenanigans the pixies can get up to, and the final social encounter is one of my favorites.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-08 Tales Trees Tell (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
by Heath B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 20:24:05

I really enjoyed running this for a group of relatively new players. It's a good change from other first-season AL modules in being very straightforward in its goals, and the playtesting patches leave fewer questions than in other early adventures. The dungeon has more than its fair share of memorable encounters. In trying to run the whole module in one session, however, I feel like I rushed the final encounter more than it deserved; there are more combatants than previous and the combination of their effects needed more study than I had time to give it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 14:57:45

Quick module, nice RP, cool concept. Really the only downside is the magic item. The module can go more than 2H if you let your players roleplay



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 14:52:39

Not the best writing, nor the best dungeon crawl. What this has going for it is that it is one of the few modules to directly have a dragon (Velvet) as a BBEG. The mechanics in the lair are fun, the fight entertaining.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 14:50:38

So this one. I would recommed informing the party as to what is supposed to happen. Let them know that they need to be captured. Otherwise, they will fight to the death and either kill themselves or the ambush. If they do wipe out the ambus, get creative. The goal is to make it to the pits. I have found that giving clues in the begining of the module as to where the halflings are helps



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 14:47:53

It can be difficult to see the complexites of the early modules - A certain goat and girl are found here that keeps cropping up into other modules. The mystery aspect of these are fun, but can be missed by unattentive parties



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-03 Shadows of the Moonsea (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 14:46:22

Solid introduction to Phlan, though if your players are not paying attention or fail a few rolls, they can miss a large chunk of the story. I typically adjust some of the information when I see my party composition, giving a little more here or there



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3980 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG