RPG Objects
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
 


Home » Wizards of the Coast » DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e) » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2018 15:33:44

Putting the Dead to Rest – 5 stars. A lot of fun to run! The quest is the quest, and of the Tier 2 trilogy, Rotting Roots and Putting the Dead to rest go well together. This one ran a little long (maybe 2 hrs 30 min), but not bad. If I had done a faction mission it could have gone an extra 30 minutes. Nice story line, good tie in to the Chult missions as well as the hardcover. Let’s face it – everybody has an agenda. Why not play it out. Good balance, and fun to role play (but then I love to rp the bosses).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2018 15:32:38

Rotting Roots – 5 stars. Honestly, I would give this adventure 5 stars based on the boss fight alone. I had a flipping blast running it, and my players nearly freaked out when I pulled out the “mini”. A fun module which dovetailed perfectly into Putting the Dead to Rest. Keep the party moving and don’t let them get bogged down in the journey.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2018 15:31:43

Whispers in the Dark – 4 stars. A nice finale to the Tier 1 trilogy. The first encounter really stretched my stash of minis as the characters insisted on winning the unwinnable fight. I had a lot of fun in the role play section prior to the boss fight. Whispering at the game store where I ran this was not easy, but I tried to loop the players into the creepy factor. A nicely scalable boss to challenge the party, and you are done. I found this could run a bit long (3 hours) due to the first fight. I hope to meet up with the NPC in a future adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2018 15:30:25

A Walk in the Park – 3 stars. I found this one to be the weakest link in the Tier 1 trilogy. I found the hook acceptable, and the intro okay. The middle was weak in my opinion. Making a multi-day journey just fly by seemed too easy (especially to players who were doing the TOA hardcover with a different character). The final encounter was challenging to the party just because it was scalable, but the building scale size was a bit cramped for a large party. Good but not great.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2018 15:28:46

A Day at the Races – 4 stars. A great opportunity to get involved in Chult before heading out into the really scary jungle. This adventure lends itself extremely well to a Theater of the Mind setting. I enjoyed the free for all style of the race itself. Lots of great opportunity for role playing here. I strongly encourage helping the shy players get involved in the storyline. I wish there had been a little more detail on how to run the gambling, but it is a solid adventure that is fun to run and play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2017 15:47:41

Lots of traps, plan accordingly!! If you have a combat heavy party, they will struggle with this one. If you have a very cerebral group, they will enjoy this adventure. It was a blast to run as a DM, and I admit I got a thrill out of watching my party struggle with the traps. Either they figured out the traps and blew the DC or they had no clue and I had to throw them a bone. My only complaint is the lack of Season 6 adventures, which is not the fault of the writer, but rather WOTC. It is fun to run - do so!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2017 15:36:59

Season 5 Introductory adventures - designed to run as a set. My table had not done Season 1 or the Book (Hoard of the Dragon Queen). If you are in the same situation, run the adventure as a chaotic time with many factions vying for power. That worked for my group. I feel these are well written and they were well received by my group. I enjoyed running the adventures (but Season 1 is still my favorite). Your players wil quickly learn when to be agressive and when to be diplomatic. A good solid intro to help you ease players into Season 5. You can morph the Season 5 book (Storm King's Thunder) to suit your party if you run these mini modules first.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2017 21:01:53

If you are a DM who is a bit of a ham, then this is your chance to RP the heck out of a module. Figuring out the puzzles can be distracting for a party, so be prepared to offer hints. But the giant challenge section is a blast to RP out. And the story award available to characters who have played all of the Tier 1, Season 5 adventures is a lot of fun as well. I love to see a little bonus reward to serious and committed players who attend regularly. Some decent combat, but lots of RP fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2017 20:58:24

I would have preferred to see Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (DDAL05-06) and this adventure combined into a 4 adventure. The second half of this story becomes a dungeon crawl, but it requires a lot of intelligent thought from the PCs, not just a series of die rolls. And if you have an unbalanced party, this can get really messy and frustrating fast. Still nice to run, but brush up on your maps skills - not a good adventure for theater of the mind.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2017 20:55:06

Straight forward and to the point-explore and fight. Part 1 of the 2 Chelimber adventures for the Tier 1 Parnast story arc for season 5. It canbe run separately or as a 2 parter. Not much options here for the party - make some nice rolls while exploring and it can get easy. A couple of fights, and they are ready for part 2. Not the most challenging adventure, but a good setup for the second part - DDAL05-07.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2017 20:52:05

Another adventure in the Parnast story arc. The NPCs give the players a mission, and turn them loose. Some choices will have to be made, and depending on the party's choice, the DM will have to select the appropriate outcome. Nicely written, I enjoyed playing some of the NPCs as pompous and overbearing. HAH! Back at you PCs. You are not the only cocky people in Faerun! Can run a little long, but still fun to DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2017 20:48:49

I enjoyed playing and DMing the 3 story arcs for the Season 5 adventures. The Tiers are a series of interconnected adventures that can be played as stand alones, or as a part of the story arc. Tier 1 is set around Parnast, a town that has seen better days. The adventure here gets you to town, and has some nice combat and RP elements. I felt it was a nice combination and gave the players some options to go off script a bit. A nice setup for the rest of the arc. Plus I enjoy RPing the NPCs more when I know they will pop up in later adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX03-14 Death on the Wall (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 17:08:37

I confess, this is a weird one to rate. On the one hand, the PCs who had done all of the other Tier 1, Season 3 adventures were all in. On the second hand, the new player at the table could not grasp/come to grips with the mission. On the gripping hand, this is a nice RP adventure. You can totally get into the RP of the stealthy portion of the module. I enjoyed the writing, as it allowed the "clankers" of the group to get some RP/Stealth type opportunities. The final fight was ... unusual. My group ended with separate combats, with the faction assignments coming into play i.e. "NO, DON'T KILL HIM!!!" I actually thought that the build up would make the boss a bit tougher (lair actions?, but that is the joy of the DM - empower yourself to improve the NPC to make it a fight.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-14 Death on the Wall (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:57:42

Personally, I had a blast whether I was a player or a DM. Quite a bit of RP at the beginning, and a really big fight at the end. Quite honestly, you could easily TPK in the boss fight. I love to reward inspiration if players get into the RP, and my group went whole hog. Every one of my players had at least 1 inspiration, which they all used in the boss fight (mainly for saves). The final fight can be scaled according to your group, as all DDEX modules can be, but forcing PC vs. PC combat can get really weird for a group if they are not experienced.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:50:59

A nice detective story with a solid fight at the end. Performing the investigation is straightforward - with a fight if the party goes that direction. IF, and I do mean IF, the party succeeds on their perception checks this can run faster than expected, as they will encounter the boss fight early. I personally buffed it up a bit to make it a challenge. (Strong versus average). I liked it, but I wish the party had been more straight forward in their approach and taken on everything the module had to offer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG