RPG Objects
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
 


Home » Wizards of the Coast » DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e) » Reviews
Browse











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2017 11:44:00

This is a nasty adventure (subject matter wise), and it is a great intro to Season 3 - Hillsfar. If your players do not absolutely despise the Red Plumes by the end of the adventure, then you have not done your job. I played up the nastiness to set the tone for the rest of Season 3. A simple investigation turns into much more, and the final fight in the Hillsfar Arena is truly epic. The players think they've got it made from the start of the arena, but wait there's more! And then there's even more! Plus the NPCs set up the rest of Season 3 nicely.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX2-16 Boltsmelter's Book (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2017 11:36:43

My only complaint with this adventure is the run time. I love the intro sequence, but if you have a stubborn party it can run way too long. That will throw off the timing of the module, so you either end up rushing the final fights, or running it at 6 hours. I loved the combats, and the cultists are a great opponent for tier one. Other than the length of the adventure, I really enjoyed this module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-16 Boltsmelter's Book (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX2-12 Dark Rites at Fort Dalton (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2017 11:30:29

A 2 hour module, that will be challenging to run in 2 hours. The first time I ran it, I had 7 4th level characters, and I had to up every fight to keep it challenging. We ran just over 3 hours due to combat. The encounters are interesting, and the chance to dig for buried treasure at the end was a neat use of downtime activities. I enjoyed the final combat scenario and the map was different enough to be interesting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-12 Dark Rites at Fort Dalton (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2017 10:57:01

This was the first 2 hour adventure I ever ran, and like all 2 hour adventures, I find that it is more of a 2-3 hour adventure. This is essentially a straight dungeon crawl. The encounters can require some player thought, not just an ability check. The final fight is fun to RP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2017 10:52:03

Overall, I like this module. The first encounter is a fun chase/evasion. The detective work in the middle in fun as well. Lots of choices for the party to choose from and lots of paths to take. The final fight can be interesting. My only complaint is the magic item. I feel it is overpowered for tier 1. Other modules downstream until the player with the item hits tier 2 are much harder to run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-10 Cloaks and Shadows (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX2-08 Foulness Beneath Mulmaster (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2017 16:48:27

I love dungeon crawls! Or in this case - a sewer crawl. Nice straightforward mission, not much to side track the PCs. The twist at the end can be fun to mess with the party (not quite dead). My only gripe is only one map, or even lacking clear guidance on drawing the other areas. As a visual DM, I like to "see" what is going on, and I do not think I have ever run this the same way twice. Despite that, this is a fun one for combat heavy groups.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-08 Foulness Beneath Mulmaster (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX2-07 Bounty in the Bog (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2017 16:44:27

A good solid "get out of the city" adventure module. If your party is weak on outdoor skills (survival, animal handling), then this can get messy. A fairly straight forward adventure, without a lot of potential side tracks for the party. I upped the final fight a bit (average to strong) as the party had not taken much damage up to the boss fight, and I wanted to give them more of a challenge. Good, but not great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-07 Bounty in the Bog (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX2-06 Breath of the Yellow Rose (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2017 16:40:45

At first read through, I thought this would be a boring adventure to run - but my party proved me wrong. I had a couple of rogues who hammed up the RP sections so much, that we could not help but have a blast. The investigation can go horribly wrong if the players do not RP well, but as a DM I love playing up the NPCs as basically movie characters. Need a questionable noble? Think any Bill Paxton role. Need a lordly type? Think Christopher Lee as Saruman. You can fit them in here and have lots of fun. And then the rogue says "I make herbal sleeping suppositories and stick them...."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-06 Breath of the Yellow Rose (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX2-05 Flames of Kythorn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2017 16:35:12

A good module, but not a great module. I have both played and DMed this adventure. The first encounter could seriously damage the party if they become scattered and unfocused on the objective (I had someone "help" with NPC healing). This adventure does have a time limit of sorts built in - so if your party is the type to expend every resource and demand a long rest, then you will have a long session of grumpy players. Another set of Mulmaster nobles gets involved, so depending on how things go, they could become patrons, or enemies! I found the freeform nature of the final fight(s) challenging to run, but if you do not have a rules lawyer at the table then you can make it work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-05 Flames of Kythorn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX2-02 Embers of Elmwood (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2017 16:28:37

I love this adventure! A nice 4 hour intro to Season 2 - Mulmaster. This module gives you some great leeway in letting players go wild with the RP, but enough combat (especially the second combat - very scalable) to satisfy the bloodthirsty amongst your players. This module also gives the DM a lot of leeway in how to handle the RP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-02 Embers of Elmwood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2017 17:07:32

This adventure has it all - RP, combat, dragon. It is called "Dungeons and Dragons" after all. I admit I forced my combat group to RP through the hags, but it was worth it. The final fight was awesome. Even though 2 players critted and technically killed the boss, I used the box text and made their characters shiver. They actually thought there was another fight after the end fight. Keep the group to the timetable, and you will be fine. I find my groups are always wanting to long rest after EVERY fight. Make them earn the XP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2017 16:59:56

For a combat heavy group, this module is bloody paradise (really). For a RP group, this module loses interest quickly. I have run this twice, and the combat group had grins on their faces for 4 HOURS! The RP complained after the first fight because I wouldn't give them a long rest (cleric and warlock blew through their spells too quickly). For a new group, you can spend half an hour explaining Phlan and its history. For a group you have run through DDEX 1-1 through 1-9, this goes super quickly. I even had a player swear to avenge (XXX) the NPC who dies in the first fight. Lots of opportunity to engage your players into the story line. As a first itro to Tier 2, it can be a bit of a shock when you explain that you are running this module at "weak". Still, this is a fun one to run,



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-10 Tyranny in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2017 16:51:26

I'll admit - this was a challenge to run and play. I played it first and we nearly had a TPK. Bad call man, bad call. We approached the final fight completely wrong and felt the results. Depedning on the players/party, the RP elements can go fast or slow. The final has always dragged on for me. I have NEVER finished this module in 4 hours. 4.5 to 5 hours seems a better guesstimate based on my experience. Lots of opportunity for "out of the box" thinking. I like to reward players with lots of inspiration if they get engaged in the adventure. A challenging adventure, but a fun one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX1-08 Tales Trees Tell (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2017 16:46:34

A good mix of combat and RP. A DM who gets into the RP can really make this module sing! Have fun with the "boss" and really sell it if you can. A good mix of investigation and combat. Even my wife loved it! If you can sell the creepy factor, then this is a fun module to run and play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-08 Tales Trees Tell (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX1-07 Drums in the Marsh (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2017 16:42:30

This is a nice adventure if your characters are aching to get out of the city and in to the country. If you have a combat heavy group, they will be bored in the middle. This became more interesting with the advent of Volo's guide, since Volo added lizardfolk as a playable race. Some combat, but more RP in my opinion. Still a good adventure, but drawing maps can get a little challenging due to scale.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-07 Drums in the Marsh (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG