RPG Objects
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
 


Home » Wizards of the Coast » DDEX1-12 Raiders of the Twilight Marsh (5e) » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2017 15:47:41

Lots of traps, plan accordingly!! If you have a combat heavy party, they will struggle with this one. If you have a very cerebral group, they will enjoy this adventure. It was a blast to run as a DM, and I admit I got a thrill out of watching my party struggle with the traps. Either they figured out the traps and blew the DC or they had no clue and I had to throw them a bone. My only complaint is the lack of Season 6 adventures, which is not the fault of the writer, but rather WOTC. It is fun to run - do so!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2017 15:36:59

Season 5 Introductory adventures - designed to run as a set. My table had not done Season 1 or the Book (Hoard of the Dragon Queen). If you are in the same situation, run the adventure as a chaotic time with many factions vying for power. That worked for my group. I feel these are well written and they were well received by my group. I enjoyed running the adventures (but Season 1 is still my favorite). Your players wil quickly learn when to be agressive and when to be diplomatic. A good solid intro to help you ease players into Season 5. You can morph the Season 5 book (Storm King's Thunder) to suit your party if you run these mini modules first.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2017 21:01:53

If you are a DM who is a bit of a ham, then this is your chance to RP the heck out of a module. Figuring out the puzzles can be distracting for a party, so be prepared to offer hints. But the giant challenge section is a blast to RP out. And the story award available to characters who have played all of the Tier 1, Season 5 adventures is a lot of fun as well. I love to see a little bonus reward to serious and committed players who attend regularly. Some decent combat, but lots of RP fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2017 20:58:24

I would have preferred to see Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (DDAL05-06) and this adventure combined into a 4 adventure. The second half of this story becomes a dungeon crawl, but it requires a lot of intelligent thought from the PCs, not just a series of die rolls. And if you have an unbalanced party, this can get really messy and frustrating fast. Still nice to run, but brush up on your maps skills - not a good adventure for theater of the mind.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2017 20:55:06

Straight forward and to the point-explore and fight. Part 1 of the 2 Chelimber adventures for the Tier 1 Parnast story arc for season 5. It canbe run separately or as a 2 parter. Not much options here for the party - make some nice rolls while exploring and it can get easy. A couple of fights, and they are ready for part 2. Not the most challenging adventure, but a good setup for the second part - DDAL05-07.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2017 20:52:05

Another adventure in the Parnast story arc. The NPCs give the players a mission, and turn them loose. Some choices will have to be made, and depending on the party's choice, the DM will have to select the appropriate outcome. Nicely written, I enjoyed playing some of the NPCs as pompous and overbearing. HAH! Back at you PCs. You are not the only cocky people in Faerun! Can run a little long, but still fun to DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2017 20:48:49

I enjoyed playing and DMing the 3 story arcs for the Season 5 adventures. The Tiers are a series of interconnected adventures that can be played as stand alones, or as a part of the story arc. Tier 1 is set around Parnast, a town that has seen better days. The adventure here gets you to town, and has some nice combat and RP elements. I felt it was a nice combination and gave the players some options to go off script a bit. A nice setup for the rest of the arc. Plus I enjoy RPing the NPCs more when I know they will pop up in later adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX03-14 Death on the Wall (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 17:08:37

I confess, this is a weird one to rate. On the one hand, the PCs who had done all of the other Tier 1, Season 3 adventures were all in. On the second hand, the new player at the table could not grasp/come to grips with the mission. On the gripping hand, this is a nice RP adventure. You can totally get into the RP of the stealthy portion of the module. I enjoyed the writing, as it allowed the "clankers" of the group to get some RP/Stealth type opportunities. The final fight was ... unusual. My group ended with separate combats, with the faction assignments coming into play i.e. "NO, DON'T KILL HIM!!!" I actually thought that the build up would make the boss a bit tougher (lair actions?, but that is the joy of the DM - empower yourself to improve the NPC to make it a fight.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-14 Death on the Wall (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:57:42

Personally, I had a blast whether I was a player or a DM. Quite a bit of RP at the beginning, and a really big fight at the end. Quite honestly, you could easily TPK in the boss fight. I love to reward inspiration if players get into the RP, and my group went whole hog. Every one of my players had at least 1 inspiration, which they all used in the boss fight (mainly for saves). The final fight can be scaled according to your group, as all DDEX modules can be, but forcing PC vs. PC combat can get really weird for a group if they are not experienced.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:50:59

A nice detective story with a solid fight at the end. Performing the investigation is straightforward - with a fight if the party goes that direction. IF, and I do mean IF, the party succeeds on their perception checks this can run faster than expected, as they will encounter the boss fight early. I personally buffed it up a bit to make it a challenge. (Strong versus average). I liked it, but I wish the party had been more straight forward in their approach and taken on everything the module had to offer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:44:54

Disclaimer-I have only run this once, and with a weak party. I love the concept - a creepy and mysterious carnival! Who doesn't have flashbacks of the county fair as a kid? Trying to herd the cats of my group was a challenge - all they wanted to do was fight. A great adventure for RP though. I had a blast. And the magic item was fun - I had a bard in the group who used it well in later adventures "Oh God, not that again???" And if you get the chance to play the related CCC, then this is an awesome lead in. High for a RP group, low averae for a combat group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:38:59

A nice outdoors adventure. Lots of choices to be made from the PC perspective. That being said, I have never managed to run this in less than 5 hours. The chase sequence with a large party can get bogged down really badly (especially if the party or a single PC tries something outside the box) The final fight is almost a letdown after the big chase. If you have a lot of Zhents playing CN, then the module can take a totally different direction, which may require a lot of DM improvisation. Still, it was fun to run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2017 11:44:00

This is a nasty adventure (subject matter wise), and it is a great intro to Season 3 - Hillsfar. If your players do not absolutely despise the Red Plumes by the end of the adventure, then you have not done your job. I played up the nastiness to set the tone for the rest of Season 3. A simple investigation turns into much more, and the final fight in the Hillsfar Arena is truly epic. The players think they've got it made from the start of the arena, but wait there's more! And then there's even more! Plus the NPCs set up the rest of Season 3 nicely.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX2-16 Boltsmelter's Book (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2017 11:36:43

My only complaint with this adventure is the run time. I love the intro sequence, but if you have a stubborn party it can run way too long. That will throw off the timing of the module, so you either end up rushing the final fights, or running it at 6 hours. I loved the combats, and the cultists are a great opponent for tier one. Other than the length of the adventure, I really enjoyed this module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-16 Boltsmelter's Book (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

DDEX2-12 Dark Rites at Fort Dalton (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2017 11:30:29

A 2 hour module, that will be challenging to run in 2 hours. The first time I ran it, I had 7 4th level characters, and I had to up every fight to keep it challenging. We ran just over 3 hours due to combat. The encounters are interesting, and the chance to dig for buried treasure at the end was a neat use of downtime activities. I enjoyed the final combat scenario and the map was different enough to be interesting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-12 Dark Rites at Fort Dalton (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 32 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG