RPG Objects
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
 


Home » RPG Objects » Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle » Reviews
Find Category
 Publisher Info











Back
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle $25.00 $10.00
Average Rating:3.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 10
2 5
1 2
2 1
1 0
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Click to view
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/25/2011 20:58:58

This set includes a wide variety of military rules for d20 Modern.

BLOOD & GUTS: This is the premiere military supplement, and nobody covers it better than Charles Rice. It includes rules covering all the major Special Forces, advanced training and elite units (modified versions of occupations), a variety of additional rules for combat, a host of military equipment including vehicles and weapons, and a Battlefield Unit Combat (BUC) system to simulate large battles. The section rounds out with rules for game mastering a military and special ops campaign. The military aspect of D20 Modern caught the creators by surprise – it's what led to the surge in popularity of Spycraft. Blood & Guts scratches that itch and then some, making it feasible to play a military D20 Modern game. Once you've read Blood & Guts, it's hard to conceive playing any military ops campaign without these rules. 5 out of 5.

SOLDIERS: Blood & Guts covered the more glamorous Special Forces but not the main branches of the military. Soldiers aims (pun intended) to correct that. By necessity, Soldiers starts out broad with advanced classes like Airman, Grunt, Leatherneck, and Specialist. They are rounded out by Military Operational Specialty (MOS) packages. This supplement, while filling a critical role, is light on fluff. 3 out of 5.

MODERN DISPATCH #6: This Dispatch features the 172nd Infantry Brigade, a multi-terrain unit that features land, sea, and air capabilities. If the 172nd Brigade is reminiscent of G.I. Joe, then Dispatch #6 is Snow Job (look him up). In addition to a handful of new feats there's also the Arctic Warfare Specialist advanced class, unique to the Brigade's training in arctic warfare. This is a handy little supplement but of a very specific use – any game master not playing in the arctic will give it a pass. 4 out of 5.

MODERN DISPATCH #15: This Dispatch requires Blood and Guts, War on Terror, and Soldier. It features a scenario in which members of Task Force 121 (the PCs) are sent to act as bait for a counterterrorist operation. Their mission: set up shop (literally) in a liquor store and capture the terrorists who attack it. My players managed to capture a terrorist but not before he fired off a Stinger. The supplement also features an advanced class, the Field Agent. The Field Agent class is most likely joined by the Charismatic Hero, which is odd since the majority of its abilities are all combat-focused. In particular, Silent Kill is basically the D&D 3.5 rogue's sneak attack ability, with up to 5d6 additional damage at 10th level. It's a powerful class. 4 out of 5.

WAR ON TERROR: This supplement does for terrorists what Blood & Guts did for military. Terrorism is hardly uniform and so there are a variety of forces who fight them on their own terms: the U.S. Secret Service, SWAT, and even the Y-12 Special Response Unit. The terrorist classes are grouped by archetype: Demagogue (Charismatic), Guerilla (Strong), Organizer (Smart), the generically named Terrorist (Fast), and the Zealot (Dedicated). The Terrorist has a a sneak attack ability similar to the D&D 3.5 rogue, and the Guerilla, Terrorist, and Zealot all have a suicide attack special ability that raises the massive damage save by the class level (up to 25 at 10th level). Of more value is the myriad terrorist organizations and stat blocks for each grouped into low-level (2-3 levels), medium-level (5-8 levels), high-level (9-14 levels), and extreme (15-20 levels). Need terrorist foes? War on Terror's got you covered. 4 out of 5.

IN HER MAJESTY'S SERVICE: The supplement Rice always wanted to write, this supplement does for the British special forces what Blood & Guts did for American forces. It includes advanced classes for a wide variety of units, including the infamous Special Air Service (SAS) and the Special Intelligence Service (MI-6, Her Majesty's Secret Service). It also includes equipment, feats, and elite units particular to the U.K. 4 out of 5.

INSIDE VOSSBERG SUPERMAX: The reason I bought the supplement, this supplement covers a super maximum prison. In addition to detailing Vossberg's security, it has a motley rogue's gallery of the worst of the worst, from mercenaries to gang leaders. There is also a Banger advanced class and the U.S. Marshals prestige class. Throughout the supplement are sprinkled adventure hooks. There's surprisingly few maps of the facility; Vossberg is big on character and less on technical details. 3 out of 5.

Overall this collection of supplements just can't be beat for the price. It's a must for any d20 Modern military campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Jesse C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2006 00:00:00

I bought this bundle during the get the bundle pdf and print copy sale. I also paid for the burn to CD. I downloaded the pfd and after some weeks got my CD but haven't ever received the print copy. I've sent email asking about this but didn't get a reply. so, I haven't ordered anything since. I have downloaded a few free items since then but won't buy anything until someone addresses this matter. JLC<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The CD that was sent, was not labled like previous -- this one just had a number marked on to it like some backup disc. Not professional. And not worth $10. JLC <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Dave M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2005 00:00:00

An excellent resource for those wanting to put military options out there for their players. I haven't tried the 2nd edition, but this one is more than enough for me.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2005 00:00:00

Excelent back ground on the US military. Really fleshes out campaigns in that era. Vehicles were a great bonus, as well as the ranking system. Not the best for starting players, but really good for NPC's and/or career military-type characters.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Curtis O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2004 00:00:00

98 pages with bookmarks. This is a complete US military resource. If you're struggling with making your armed forces seem "forceful" this will add some bang.

The book is mostly new classes, feats and skills. Each class gains a number of new tricks and can pick from a variety of Special Ops "talents". However, a full third of the material is new vehicles, weapons and gear. Now the army really does have all the cool toys.

RPGObjects (and Charles Rice) deliver quality and quantity in rare combination.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Paul T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2004 00:00:00

This is an amazing resource. We currently use in our campaign. The descriptions are thorough, and easy to use. For any military d20 campaign this is a must have. If you are looking for weapons stats, I would suggest another book, however.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Robert O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2004 00:00:00

I would reccommend this as the definitive D20M supplement for anyone running a full-on military campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2004 00:00:00

Contains some interesting ideas...but nothing earthshattering. Probably better for people with little or no knowledge of the military...



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Pete s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2004 00:00:00

This product set out lots of advanced class for use in a military campaign, but didn't provide much information about actually using the classes. I would have preferred more suggestions about running a military game to the large list of classes, many of which are very similar.

I did like the new combat options. I like "gritty" realistic systems for some types of campaigns and it is hard to do that using the base D20 rules.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Richard H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2004 00:00:00

This is the closest thing to Twilight 2000 that you will get. As the other supplements come out (war on terror, Her magesties service) you will see unfold alot of dedication and hard work that was poured into these books. I use thses supplements to a degree in my Dw campaign. The only thing I disregard is the AV of vehicles. And APC should be proof vs. all but .50 cal rounds or better. the mere notion that a 7.62 can turn my apc to swiss cheese is silly so I up'ed the AV.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by walter s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2004 00:00:00

great job.....keep up the great work....worth getting



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Joseph Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2003 00:00:00

The book is freakin great. I can't wait for more Blood and Guts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Dana J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2003 00:00:00

Well, months after the purchase, I finally got around to printing this book out so I could sit down and read it thoroughly. Now, when I print stuff, I use custom settings for my HP deskjet. I use the minimum amount of ink and the longest period of drying time allowed by the printer's management software. When I finished printing out the first 20 pages, I discovered that the production staff itself must have never run the product out on an inkjet. I was forced to hang all the pages out to dry on a clothesline thanks to the sheer volume of ink laid down for the fat black text you'll find on every single page. So my word of advice is this: If you print it out, either take the time to print one page at a time over the course of a couple days, or print it out in draft mode. Otherwise you'll find yourself wasting paper and ink.

Now, getting back to basics, this is a rather good book, greatly expanding beyond the Soldier advanced class in D20 Modern, supplemented by plenty of feats and skills, old and new. If you're running a military campaign, I think this product will prove to be a far better value than D20 Afghanistan and its ilk. There are a few inaccuracies, but nothing outrageously troublesome. The downside is that if you want some opponents to throw at these elite soldiers, you have to go buy the other Blood & Guts product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Peter W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2003 00:00:00

The amount of material in the zip file was a pleasant surprise. An excellent product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Guts (1st Edition) Bundle
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Peter P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2003 00:00:00

Great sourcebook for modern military campaigns. Lots of info here for those who need background on the US military but don't want to go and do alot of their own research.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG