RPG Objects
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
 


Home » RPG Objects » Skeleton Base (revised) » Reviews
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
GM's Monthly Miscellany: January 2014
Publisher: Raging Swan Press
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2014 13:24:59

A pretty nice little GM publication, This is the first monthly of hopefully many to come from Raging Swan.

There's about 9 pages of content (page 3-12) of various articles including the steps to set up an adventure beginning, middle and end. There's a background scenario included of a village over a chasm detailing notable locations. It has some stat blocks for NPC's and even the GM's character as well as some option tables to roll on for various rumors and outcomes.

My favorite part of the monthly was the Last Nail, a stat block, lore and background and possible scenarios to use this monster who's a mimic hiding in a sword that players will pick up and it'll change to their favorite weapon. This sounds dastardly for sure to lure players in with a nice weapon, that's obviously magical but comes with a down side they might not see right away. Funny stuff, I loved it personally.

The last section is a little GM article about when to say NO or how to get around saying no and makes some interesting suggestions to work with players.

The rest is covers, company mumbo jumbo and legaleze junk.

All in all I enjoyed this publication and look forward to more of these in future. I love nice little free tidbits like this especially that Last Nail one, I would definitely use something like that in my home game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM's Monthly Miscellany: January 2014
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks very much for the review, Brian. I much appreciate it and I\'m delighted you might use some of it in your home game!
Basic Dungeon Tiles : Expansion Set 1
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2014 16:31:42

This is the expansion set for the basic dungeon tiles set that I currently own. It's 14 pages, 12 pages of new tile content. Basically it adds some new floor flair and differently designed tile sets to the basic dungeon set. There are some really nice looking detailed floor tiles in this collection. The first being a mosaic that reminds me of a cathedral floor. There's what looks to be a dungeon jail section with portcullis's separating off individual cells. There's a well room, a lower sewer access chamber with grated flooring and a metal grate to lock pick. There's a room with columns and small pools/fountains but my favorite in the entire collection is the actual crypt room. It's very nicely detailed with grave inscriptions on the crypt and the rest of the room has some nice alcoves etc.

Pro's-Nicely detailed, nice varied floor tiles and alcoves, mosaics and the bricks (all 1 inch square) do not seem to repeat.

Con's-These sets (both this and the basic) come with a stone jpeg backsplash that is printer unfriendly. You will likely spend an entire cartridge printing these if you use color. Gray scale still looks ok but it still wastes a lot of black ink with that backsplash.

Suggestions/Comments: This is a great looking product, but don't print it in color unless you can afford cartridges no problem. Details and floor tiles are awesome. I would suggest removing the stone backsplash and adding a black or brick border if you must use one. Also, an option for gray scale printing would be nice to add for each of the tiles. I rate it a 4/5 for the nice detail but due to the very bad printing options and the waste of my ink.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Basic Dungeon Tiles : Expansion Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

SUPERS! Quick Start
Publisher: HAZARD Studio
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2013 12:42:20

Doesn't seem to hard to play or GM. Some very simple rules, comes with a few pre-gen characters all ready to go for the trial scenario provided in the quick start. Seems like a very open system that allows for some open game play fun. Reminds me of Mutants and Masterminds.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS! Quick Start
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

The Beckoning
Publisher: DramaScape
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2013 14:56:18

This is a tile set of a fantasy or Sci-fi looking oval room. It has 4 stone pillars in it with pretty decent detail, the exterior walls appear to be made of stone though with a stone alter and a book laid open, on the bottom left there is what looks to be a sci-fi computer console and chair. It sticks out like a sore thumb to the rest of the scene but there are also overhead laps and a shadow is cast in multiple directions from them and the pillars and alters. There are 2 glowing orb looking things which appear to be made of fire or using a fire texture. This is set to 1" square (diagonally), as well as hex and plain. This could probably be used in a fantasy setting, or as a ruin, or even a sci-fi underground research facility or bunker. The use of stone to me throws off the image as being sci-fi. The use of the computer/chair console throws it off from being fantasy. It's a mix-mash of both, you just have to figure out a use for it or scap part of it. Texture wise I think it looks good and love the shadowing done in it. It comes in VTT, 360 and PDF format.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Beckoning
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

The Armory
Publisher: DramaScape
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2013 14:40:23

Not to bad. I was searching for maps/tilesets and this came up. It could be used for a storage locker, warehouse, armory, bunker or just about any of those types of sterile looking sci-fi or modern adventure map environments. It wasn't quite what I was looking for but it could be useful in an adventure somewhere down the line. It comes in VTT, 360 and pdf formats with 1" square, hex and plain tiles. Personally, I didn't care for the floor texture all that much, the rest of it looked ok but I think it's usable.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Armory
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Junction Room
Publisher: DramaScape
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2013 14:33:50

I liked it, I pulled this up on a search of maps and tilesets. This is set to a 1" square interior of a spaceship, sci-fi sewer or other sci-fi technical looking corridor. I think I will find it useful in some of my sci-fi adventures. I think the detail on it rocks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Junction Room
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Somnium Mundus Adventure Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Terra-Sol Games LLC
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2013 14:30:55

I got this as part of the Somnium Mundus bundle. What I was looking for was sci-fi maps and tiles on my search. What I stumbled on here was a nice little sci-fi mini-adventure with some nice looking tile sets and for an added bonus, some audio clips of the adventure, sound effects and a little music for the club scene. I pulled this up while searching for maps and these tiles will come in handy in any sci-fi campaign but this was made for the Traveller universe. The adventure is done quite well and the added audio only enhances it. This is superb for a free product. This could probably be adapted to just about any sci-fi setting though, who knows maybe my GM will use it in one of our Traveller sessions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Somnium Mundus Adventure Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Somnium Mundus: Audio Enhancements
Publisher: Terra-Sol Games LLC
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2013 14:30:21

I got this as part of the Somnium Mundus bundle. What I was looking for was sci-fi maps and tiles on my search. What I stumbled on here was a nice little sci-fi mini-adventure with some nice looking tile sets and for an added bonus, some audio clips of the adventure, sound effects and a little music for the club scene. I pulled this up while searching for maps and these tiles will come in handy in any sci-fi campaign but this was made for the Traveller universe. The adventure is done quite well and the added audio only enhances it. This is superb for a free product. This could probably be adapted to just about any sci-fi setting though, who knows maybe my GM will use it in one of our Traveller sessions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Somnium Mundus: Audio Enhancements
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Somnium Mundus: Tileset Pack
Publisher: Terra-Sol Games LLC
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2013 14:29:32

I got this as part of the Somnium Mundus bundle. What I was looking for was sci-fi maps and tiles on my search. What I stumbled on here was a nice little sci-fi mini-adventure with some nice looking tile sets and for an added bonus, some audio clips of the adventure, sound effects and a little music for the club scene. I pulled this up while searching for maps and these tiles will come in handy in any sci-fi campaign but this was made for the Traveller universe. The adventure is done quite well and the added audio only enhances it. This is superb for a free product. This could probably be adapted to just about any sci-fi setting though, who knows maybe my GM will use it in one of our Traveller sessions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Somnium Mundus: Tileset Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Somnium Mundus
Publisher: Terra-Sol Games LLC
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2013 14:28:02

I got this as part of the Somnium Mundus bundle. What I was looking for was sci-fi maps and tiles on my search. What I stumbled on here was a nice little sci-fi mini-adventure with some nice looking tile sets and for an added bonus, some audio clips of the adventure, sound effects and a little music for the club scene. I pulled this up while searching for maps and these tiles will come in handy in any sci-fi campaign but this was made for the Traveller universe. The adventure is done quite well and the added audio only enhances it. This is superb for a free product. This could probably be adapted to just about any sci-fi setting though, who knows maybe my GM will use it in one of our Traveller sessions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Somnium Mundus
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Battlemaps: City Street (sample)
Publisher: Wydraz
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2013 14:04:20

Good for a sample. The section you get is the lower right section of the picture shown. It has a few craters, one big one small, what looks to be a road (the texture isn't that great in my opinion for a road) and some grass surrounding 2 buildings' entrances. I didn't care for the building mockups, the outside looks like it might be wood with concrete floors on the inside. Actually I will pass on this full map, I'm glad I got to see the sample though. The only thing I did like about it was the craters and the grass textures, the rest of it I could leave well enough alone. They just don't fit in any sci-fi or modern scene well enough for my liking and there is no variation whatsoever. Every building tile looks like every other one. This is set to a 1" square map tile.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemaps: City Street (sample)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Skeleton Base (revised)
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2013 13:53:20

Definitely not what I thought it would be. It's a base alright but a mock up of jpg's I could probably have done in paint myself with about 30 mins of effort on most of the slides. If you need to use something for a "Reference" for a campaign that would probably be good but it is by far any kind of useful map. The PDF is a mini-adventure which includes the "maps" within its pages as part of the adventure and looks to be a nice little adventure for some sort of sci-fi or apocalyptic setting, I've never played or heard of the Darwin's World rpg this is used for. I reviewed this on the basis of what I searched for on DtRPG which was maps with which this came up as.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Skeleton Base (revised)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
Publisher: RoleplayingTips.com
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2013 13:37:19

I gotta say this is a pretty good book for a freebie. There are tons of seeds and hooks for encounters in an urban/city environment that can be used to create adventures for your party or If they do something familiar/unexpected while in a city you could use one of these to hook them into an adventure willy nilly. Inside the pdf there is also a link to his website which has a seed generator of all of these so if you don't want to sort through the book you can pull up the generator online and go from there in a jiffy. I really liked this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
650 Fantasy City Encounter Seeds & Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

INN-Teriors 6 Freebie: Creek Ambush
Publisher: Scrying Eye Games
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2013 12:53:28

This is a 1" square map of a snowy creek 8x10'. It has some trees, a fallen one across the creek, some brush and the straight creek and a few scattered rocks. Someone might find it useful for an outdoor wintery crossing, ambush or other fantasy scenario. I'd like to see more of this kind of map, it's not bad looking and would be great for a short outdoor winter campaign setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
INN-Teriors 6 Freebie: Creek Ambush
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Pathways #23 (PFRPG)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2013 12:38:16

Another great issue, I like a couple of the scenarios provided in this issue and may use a bit of them. Some good detail on the tapestry creature and the Top 10 for 2012 was really good, some information I didn't know about some books I missed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pathways #23 (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG