RPG Objects
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
 


Home » RPG Objects » Two Worlds Tabletop RPG » Reviews
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
The Unearthed Hack
Publisher: Shattered Pike Studio
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2016 23:28:55

The Unearthed Hack includes quite a few additional rules for The Black Hack that make it well worth the money. There are two suggested ability arrays with point buy alternates that give it a 3.5 or 5E feel of That Other Game and two different takes on Races: race as class and the more traditional race with added abilities and bonuses. The races are different enough from The Race Hack that you can get four different ways of implementing races or borrowing their suggestions and making your own. I enjoyed the section on monster groups and multi-staged boss fights; those will be fun to incorporate into my own game. FInally, there's the magic item section that definitely has a Diablo-esque vibe to it with bonuses or extra abilities receiving its own special title.

There are two things that detract from this title. The largest is the Combat section: I am not a fan of flipping the table, so to speak, and changing how the dice work in the first method of PvP, but there is an alternative given as well. The level drain segment seems unnecessary for my game, but if that's a significant area for you, then that guideline is there. The second comes in Character Creation: The Allure attribute is effectively a derived Comeliness attribute. Again, I do not need it, but it is there for those of you that do. And lastly, it is listed in the Race section that Humans have access to luck points, though I do not see anywhere in the book where or how luck points are generated and used. If I were to guess, it would probably be a once per day thing or, borrowing from the fifth edition of That Other Game, an inspired thing.

All in all, the title is worth the asking price. There are many recommendations in the game that will find its way into my game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Unearthed Hack
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review! Rules for luck points are in \"The Black Hack: Additional Things\", but that was not clear at all. I have added a reference to this in the book, as well as a link. I will upload the Updated version soon. I appreciate your feedback, and your effort has helped make the book better! - Shattered Pike
Infernal Realms
Publisher: Olde House Rules
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2015 20:13:07

This expansion includes two specific topics I have been waiting for: the corsair character class and integrating Pits & Perils with Braunstein. The addition of new spells and arch fiends enhances the game without feeling bloated or introducing too much unnecessary complexity.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Infernal Realms
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Blood of Pangea
Publisher: Olde House Rules
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2015 20:08:56

This is my favorite rule set produced by Olde House Rules so far. It is very rules light and diverse in character creation. The simple and intuitive magic system is refreshing. Olde House Rules read my mind when I wanted a merge of their older product with Pits & Perils. When Retrospace is re-released, they'll already have my money sent their way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood of Pangea
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Two Worlds Tabletop RPG
Publisher: RPG Objects
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2014 02:49:49

This is just another d20 fantasy setting. It does as advertised, an attempt to translate the video game to the table top. While it does not feel like a port of the video game to the table, it makes the effort and comes off as just another d20 variant. It's a free supplement, and it feels like one. I owned the physical hardback that came with the game and felt the same initial impression: it didn't cost me anything. As such, it's free. It contains a setting. It has rules. But there's nothing in it that sets it apart from any other supplement already available.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Two Worlds Tabletop RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Fear! Fire! Foes!
Publisher: Olde House Rules
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2014 00:08:18

If Braunstein! was my Holmes Basic, and Pits & Perils was Advanced Holmes, it would be logical to think of this as the Advanced Holmes Companion. House rule suggestions such as combat moves for the fighters, new spells, the introduction of the Monk and Savant, and the capacity to become an Elven Fighter or Elven Magician. The document is still concise and evocative at 56 pages, allowing for expanding the game without feeling weighed down with a load of new rules. I believe the three titles can work together in a cohesive way; I should know within a couple months if that is the case.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fear! Fire! Foes!
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Pits & Perils
Publisher: Olde House Rules
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2014 23:57:07

If Braunstein! is my new Holmes Basic, this is Advanced Holmes. It literally feels like what I learned in Braunstein! can be applied to Pits & Perils. I appreciate the take on race as class, and it even addresses where the Elven and Dwarven Clerics are hiding (i.e. not adventuring). The Spells and Monsters listing are inspiring without taking a one half or a whole page explaining what a Kobold is. It's evocative without being overbearing. The singular fault I've come across, if you can call it that, is rolling for a character's attribute didn't feel like it did anything until stumbling upon the last sentence of page 22. "Abilities determine what actions a character may attempt in the game (p. 5)." At first, I thought, "So not having Strength means I can't Lift Gates?" When I was just about to accept it as an old school concession, possibly house ruling it, I came across the suggestion on page 22; from a rules POV, I would recommend moving the statement into the Attribute section of page 5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pits & Perils
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Barons of Braunstein
Publisher: Olde House Rules
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2014 23:47:11

I just received this along with a copy of Pits & Perils and Fear! Fire! Foes! I have been looking for a written copy (or reasonable facsimile) of the Braunstein rules. This was an awesome 24 page discovery. Even though I am less interested in historical gaming, I appreciate using historic settings as a foundation for fantasy. Combining the last page of the document (introducing magic and witchcraft) with Pits & Perils (using Braunstein's Luck vs. Pits & Perils HP and magic), might make for an interesting game. At its core, this feels like a new take on Holmes Basic D&D.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Barons of Braunstein
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Cartoon Action Hour: S2 -- Going Japanese (No-Frills Version)
Publisher: Spectrum Games
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2010 09:45:28

"Cartoon Action Hour: Season 2, Going Japanese" is not the product that I had hoped it would be. Though it is filled with 43 pages of information (discounting the cover and title page), the information provided is dominated by series information. 34 pages of series information, the same amount of series information found in the core product.

Aside from the cover, title page and 34 pages of settings, there are nine pages of genre related information. Within those nine pages, I found only two mechanical twists to the core game: how character advancement may be modified and vehicle design rules. One is a paragraph long; the other is a sidebar.

If you are looking for an expansion filled with series information to inspire you, the supplement may work for you. However, I expected a little more proofreading and different content, such as alternative Bonuses or Restrictions, other uses for Oomph or a delineation of power scales that expands on what is found in "Cartoon Action Hour: Season 2."



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cartoon Action Hour: S2 -- Going Japanese (No-Frills Version)
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Cartoon Action Hour: Season 2
Publisher: Spectrum Games
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2010 09:18:19

"Cartoon Action Hour: Season 2" is a well written role playing game. 58 pages of rules followed by 34 pages of three different settings and the remaining six pages are miscellaneous materials including a character sheet and conversion notes. I think the author did a remarkable job keeping the rules concise while still conveying the focus of the game.

Players use "Proof of Purchase Points" (effectively character points) to generate traits that best represent their character. To avoid paralysis, there is a variant rule that includes a focused method of character creation. The game mechanic is very simple and intuitive; there are two methods for resolving combat with an additional faster paced variant also included.

"Cartoon Action Hour: Season 2" is a complete, concise game. For those that prefer free-form traits over pre-defined character generation in a game system that can be condensed to 29 double-sided pages, this game is great!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cartoon Action Hour: Season 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPG Objects Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG